On this day in 1962, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration bolstered its astronaut ranks by selecting nine more pilots to join the “Original Seven” (immortalized in the film “The Right Stuff”). The “New Nine,” as the press dubbed them, included Neil A. Armstrong, Frank F. Borman, Jr., Charles “Pete” Conrad, Jr., James A. Lovell, Jr., James A. McDivitt, Elliot M. See, Jr., Thomas P. Stafford, Edward H. White, II, and John W. Young. Armstrong, of course, is most well known as the first man to walk on the moon. White and See died before going into space, while the others flew on various Gemini and Apollo missions over the next decade.

  • Was this Helpful ?
  • Yes    No
Share This